Reconciliation Action Plan - Our City and its people

With a population of more than 252,000 people, the City of Greater Geelong is Victoria’s largest regional municipality.

Located 75 kilometres south west of Melbourne, the City of Greater Geelong municipality covers an area of 1,252 square kilometres, comprising suburban, coastal and country areas.

Greater Geelong is bounded by the Moorabool Shire and Wyndham City Council in the north; the Borough of Queenscliffe in the east; the Surf Coast Shire and Golden Plains Shire in the west; and Bass Strait to the south.

The region is characterised by the iconic waterfront overlooking Corio Bay, the picturesque Bellarine Peninsula, the Barwon River, You Yangs Regional Park, wetlands, beautiful parklands and wildlife sanctuaries.

Geelong is also the gateway to the world-renowned coastline of south-west Victoria via the Great Ocean Road.

The Traditional Owners of the land, the Wadawurrung People, have lived in the Geelong region for more than 25,000 years, occupying a territory of 10,000 square kilometres.

Population profile

The City of Greater Geelong’s population continues to grow, with an estimated 2018 resident population of 252,217. With more than 50 suburbs and townships, the population is predicted to reach 393,216 by 2041.

The 2021 ABS Census showed there are 65,646 people that identified as Aboriginal and/or Torres Strait Island People in Victoria. This is up from 47,788 in the 2016 ABS Census.

The City of Greater Geelong has the largest population of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people in any local government area in Victoria. The 2021 ABS Census showed there were 3,562 First Nations People in Greater Geelong. This represents 1.3 per cent of the total population residing within the City of Greater Geelong. 


The City of Greater Geelong is one of the largest employers in the region, employing 2,850 people (including full time, part time, casuals etc).

There are currently 14 identified Aboriginal and/or Torres Strait Islander people that are employed on a permanent full and part-time basis at the City.

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Island People make up 0.7 per cent of all permanent and part-time City employees; and 1.09 per cent of the City's total casual workers.

Over the last decade Aboriginal and/or Torres Strait Islander staff have been employed in the areas of Healthy Communities, People and Culture, Child and Family Services, Recreation and Leisure, Youth Development and Engineering.

Page last updated: Thursday, 23 May 2024