Fire hazard inspections - schedule and information

We undertake fire inspections of the entire municipality annually. Starting dates may alter from year to year.

Inspection areas

Our municipality is divided into 3 sections or areas for inspection purposes. Towns within these areas are listed below.

North Area Anakie Little River
Avalon Lara
Batesford Lovely Banks
Bell Park Moorabool
Bell Post Hill Norlane
Corio North Geelong
Hamlyn Heights North Shore
Central Area Armstrong Creek  Manifold Heights
Belmont Marshall
Breakwater Mount Duneed
Ceres Newcomb
Charlemont Newtown
East Geelong South Geelong
Fyansford St Albans Park
Geelong Wandana Heights
Geelong West Warralily
Grovedale Waurn Ponds
Herne Hill Whittington
East Area Barwon Heads Mannerim
Bellarine Marcus Hill
Breamlea Moolap
Clifton Springs Ocean Grove
Connewarre Point Henry
Curlewis Point Lonsdale
Drysdale Portarlington
Indented Head St Leonards
Leopold Wallington

First inspections

Our Fire Prevention Officers will endeavour to commence inspections in the North Area on 1 November 2021, in the Central Area on 15 November 2021 and in the East Area on 6 December 2021. You will need to ensure that your property complies by the appropriate dates and remains compliant.

Land owners who subsequently do not clear their property, may have it deemed as a fire hazard. They will then be sent a Fire Prevention Notice which is an official direction notice stating a date by which specified works must be completed.

Second inspections

Second inspections may commence from 22 November 2021. These are follow up inspections to ensure that all work required to be undertaken has been completed.

If the work directed to be undertaken has not been completed, a letter advising that Council is now engaging a contractor to undertake the work will be sent. This will incur a fee of a minimum amount of $245.

Failing to comply by the due date will also incur an infringement of $1849 for failing to comply with a Fire Prevention Notice (infringement amount as per CFA Act & FRV Act).

Page last updated: Thursday, 7 July 2022