New Mayor and Deputy Mayor for Greater Geelong

Tuesday, 15 October 2019

Councillor Stephanie Asher is the City of Greater Geelong’s new Mayor, after she was elected by her councillor colleagues during Tuesday night’s special meeting at City Hall.

Cr Asher becomes the 13th Mayor since the formation of the amalgamated City of Greater Geelong in 1995, and just the second female to hold the role after Barbara Abley, who served between 2002 and 2004.

Cr Kylie Grzybek was elected as the new Deputy Mayor, joining Cr Asher in an all-female leadership team.

An Ocean Grove resident, Cr Asher was elected to the council for the first time in October 2017, receiving the highest percentage of first preference votes in the Bellarine Ward.

She has chaired the council’s Planning Committee, Submissions Review Panel and Strategy and Communications portfolio, and represented the council on the Geelong Regional Library Corporation board, the G21 Environment Pillar and the G21 Planning and Services Pillar.

Cr Grzybek, from Lara, is also serving her first term as a councillor, representing the Windermere Ward.

She chairs the council’s Community Health and Safety portfolio and the Women in Community Life Advisory Committee, and is the council’s delegate to the Municipal Association of Victoria.

Cr Asher and Cr Grzybek will occupy their positions until the next council elections on 24 October 2020.

The changeover in leadership is effective immediately.

Mayor Stephanie Asher:
I’m deeply honoured to be elected as Mayor and I couldn’t wish for a more committed, intelligent and capable Deputy Mayor in Cr Kylie Grzybek. We are both passionate about getting things done for the smart, savvy and grounded people of Greater Geelong.

Thanks to my fellow councillors for their show of support.

Thank-you to Cr Bruce Harwood for his steady leadership, and calm and measured manner in the council chamber as Mayor over the past two years. Also to Cr Peter Murrihy, who has done a fantastic job as Deputy Mayor.
Deputy Mayor Kylie Grzybek:
I am humbled to be elected as Deputy Mayor by my fellow councillors and to work alongside Mayor Stephanie Asher.

The next year will be a big one for the council and I’m excited to continue the strong sense of unity we have had over the past two years.

Thank-you to councillors Bruce Harwood and Peter Murrihy for their leadership as Mayor and Deputy Mayor since the election of the current council. I have learned a lot from them and will take that knowledge into my role.
Councillor Bruce Harwood (outgoing Mayor): 
Congratulations to Mayor Stephanie Asher and Deputy Mayor Kylie Grzybek on their appointments.

Thank-you to Cr Peter Murrihy for his dedication as Deputy Mayor over the past two years.

Thanks also to my fellow councillors for their support during this time, as well as CEO Martin Cutter, the City’s Executive Leadership Team and council staff for working alongside me to achieve positive outcomes for the community.

Page last updated: Wednesday, 16 October 2019