Central Geelong Task Force

The Central Geelong Task Force is focused on making Central Geelong the premier mixed use activity hub for Geelong and the region.

As a Section 86 Committee established under the Local Government Act (1989), Council has delegated its decision making powers to the Task Force within the adopted Terms of Reference.

The objectives of the Task Force are to:

  • Oversee the implementation of the Central Geelong Action Plan consistent with the principles of the Action Plan;

  • Provide advice on key strategic policy and statutory processes relating to Central Geelong including making decisions on major planning permit applications referred to it by Council or the Task Force manager;

  • Oversee the development of business incentives and programs that could be considered to support Central Geelong development; and

  • Identify events and activities to bring more vitality to Central Geelong.


The Task Force was established through a public Expressions of Interest process, with membership endorsed by Council on 10 June 2014.

The Task Force membership currently comprises:

  • Chief Executive Officer, Kelvin Spiller

  • Rory Costelloe

  • Mark Edmonds

  • Professor Roz Hansen

  • Nicholas Heath

  • Dan Simmonds


The Central Geelong Task Force meets a minimum of six times per annum. Meetings are open to the public and notice will be given publicly of the time and location of Task Force Meetings.

In accordance with the Local Government Act (1989) the Task Force may resolve to close the meeting to members of the public where matters of a sensitive nature are being discussed.

View the agendas and minutes of meetings below.


Need to know more...

The Central Geelong revitalisation team can be contacted using the feedback form below.

Print Page last updated: Thursday, 5 January 2017