Geelong Cup

The Geelong Cup is an annual Group 3 Thoroughbred horse race, open to horses of all ages and sexes, and one of the most anticipated races on the racing calendar.

The race is held over a distance of 2400 metres and was first run in 1872.

Since 1947, the Cup has been run in Spring, traditionally on the Wednesday after the Caufield Cup and 13 days prior to the Melbourne Cup.

The event attracts between 15,000-20,000 people per annum and is one of the most fashionable social events in Geelong!

The prize money for the event exceeds $300,000 and the race is considered one of the most reliable guides to the result of the Melbourne Cup.

Three Geelong Cup winners in recent years have gone on to win the Melbourne Cup; all of them European-trained. Irish horse Media Puzzle won the double in 2002, while French gallopers Americain and Dunaden won both races in 2010 and 2011 respectively.
This event is proudly supported by the City of Greater Geelong.

25 October 2017
Where: Geelong Racing Club
99 Breakwater Road, Breakwater VIC 3219
Catering and/or dining
First Aid available
Parking available
Seating/viewing areas
Toilets available
Undercover areas
Wheelchair accessible

Further information

Associated Organisations:Geelong Racing Club
Contact:Geelong Racing Club
Phone:03 5229 4414
Fax:03 5222 1526